Year End

표준

Quote of the day

Year’s end is neither an end nor a beginning but a going on, with all the wisdom that experience can instill in us.  – Hal Borland

A few more days to the end of the year. Haha quite different from what my quote says but it’s still the end.

I went through a huge transition this year. I was a student in January and an employee in December. It’s an eventful year for me, I’ve lots of first times this year too, graduating, going on vacation with Fab, travelling alone, getting a job, learning korean.

This year has been a tough year for fresh graduates. It’s not easy to find a job and even if you found one, it really isn’t paying as much as those who graduated earlier a year before. I started my job search in February, months before my graduation, went for few interviews but nothing positive. After going for so many interviews, I realised I wasn’t performing well because I was too nervous, not prepared or too truthful about certain things.

Right after exams, I took my first vacation to Melbourne. It was my first time travelling alone, I was really excited and didn’t quite understand the fears others had when travelling by themselves. Fab would say that’s because I’m naive but I’m quite at ease travelling by myself. It’s also my first vacation with Fab. It’s nice time spend between the both of us. I get to see a different side of him, a more mature and dependable side.

Right after the vacation, I continued with my job search for another 2 months till I got this job which I’ve started a day before my commencement. Hence for job surveys, it seems like I got my job really fast just before graduation but it’s really a long process from February to April (after my exams) to July.

I like this job and felt I was given the best opportunity ever to learn from a capable boss and be exposed to things a fresh graduate don’t usually get to experience on the first job. I’ve also extended my contract and got a pay increment for next year.

I’m learning Korean now, but I’m not discipline enough to revise and I’m a little behind my class. I’m starting to understand a little for variety shows or dramas that aren’t translated. It’s an eventful year for the Korean entertainment scene too. My favourite band Super Junior has some issues with contract, assault, drink driving etc. There are several new bands and I liked their songs too. Feeling a little embarrassed liking idols since they are much younger than I. There are several good drama and I especially liked watching You’re Beautiful, I think they got the right cast and I like the story line about a girl who disguised herself as her brother to join a band to fulfilled her brother’s dream.

I’ve matured this year, though there are things that I need to improve on, such as being more structured, more goal orientated, I still feel that I’ve learned and experience quite a lot this year and I look forward to the brand new year, 2010.

재신왕사영에 관하여

Idea girl, freelance Jewellery Designer. Has a love for beauty and creativity, enjoys experimenting with various materials and techniques. Enjoys good food and music, unfortunately not so good a chef or singer. Lives on the sunny island Singapore with her lovely husband, arriving soon her baby girl and four mischievous fluffy bunnies and millions of pretty fishes who keeps breeding amongst themselves.

댓글 남기기